The Source of Freedom

Posted: June 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’m reading through Exodus right now. Pretty crazy stuff going on in there… plagues, staffs turning into snakes, frogs, flies, blood… Thankfully, the elements of this book that a Westerner like me might consider “weird” have  not distracted me from some major themes that keep arising from the text. The two major themes I keep seeing over and over are the power and the goodness of God. These themes were evident once again this morning when I read Exodus 13.

In verse 3, Moses writes, “This is a day to remember forever—the day you left Egypt, the place of your slavery. Today the Lord has brought you out by the power of his mighty hand.” The people of Israel had just been set free from Egyptian slavery. God had done miraculous things to make it happen. They were free for the first time in 400 years. This freedom came because of God’s power and goodness.

For a lot of my friends and me, the idea of God liberating us from captivity sounds all too familiar. In my church, there is story after story of people being set free from bondage, whether it is slavery to a particular sin or to old wounds that resided deeply in the corners of our hearts. I can certainly relate to this as God has been setting me free in so many ways over the past several years. Certainly, there are parts of my heart and psyche that still reside in Egypt, but God is still working.

The key in this for me this morning, the thing that jumped off of the page, was very simple. Here is the verse mentioned above with a little added emphasis: “This is a day to remember forever—the day you left Egypt, the place of your slavery. Today THE LORD has brought you out by the power of HIS mighty hand.” He is the liberator. He is the heart changer. He is the one who can set us free and heal us on the deepest levels. For me, it can be easy to forget. I can look back on where I was enslaved and see the freedom I have now and begin to take credit for it, as if I led my own personal revolution and freed myself. No… nothing could be further from the truth. The truth is that the freedom that I have attained has been provided by HIM, by the power of HIS MIGHTY HAND.

Comments
  1. Ernie says:

    So true, Ed. The part that sticks out to me is “This is a day to remember forever – the day you left Egypt….” I know I will forever remember the day I walked away!

    • Ed Hudgins says:

      I’m with you, Mr. Reppe! I think having those moments of finding freedom ingrained in our memories is important. It allows us to anchor to the work that God has already done in us when we are facing another problem area in our lives. They serve as reminders of how good and big he is and that we can lean on him.

Leave a Reply

